
# Trash

> The Trash area allows you to view, restore, or empty all deleted assets in your Cascade CMS Site.

URL: https://www.hannonhill.com/cascadecms/latest/articles/content-management/trash.html
category: Content Management
article-type: how-to
content-kind: article
release-availability: all
tags: publishing
updated: 2026-10-06

## Overview

The **Trash** area allows you to view, restore, or empty all deleted assets in your Cascade CMS Site. Navigate to the Trash by clicking the  icon at the top of the **Site Content** menu.

![Screenshot of the trash area showing deleted items and their original locations.](https://www.hannonhill.com/cascadecms/latest/_files/images/content-management/trash-img.png)

> **Notes:**
>
> Assets in the Trash may be scheduled for permanent deletion from the system via the **Remove items from Trash** after setting under **Manage Site > Site Settings**.
> - The default setting for new Sites is **15 days**.
> - Once items are removed from Trash there is no way to recover them after that point in time.

![Dropdown menu for selecting how long to retain items in Trash before automatic removal.](https://www.hannonhill.com/cascadecms/latest/_files/images/content-management/remove-trash-img1.png)

See also: [How do I restore something I deleted from the trash?](https://www.hannonhill.com/cascadecms/latest/articles/content-management/restore-from-trash.html)
