Optimize Database

Overview

The Optimize Database tool removes and/or repairs various records within the database. It is NOT recommended to run this tool frequently.

Important - Before running any optimization tool, please backup your database to protect against data loss.

Running the Optimize Database Tool

To run the Optimize Database tool:

  1. Click the system menu button (  ) > Administration > Optimize Database.
  2. Select Optimize Database.
  3. Configure the following options:
    • Remove audit information - Removes all audit information from the database.
    • Remove login history - Removes all login/out related audit information from the database from before an optional date/time. This includes: logins, logouts, and failed login attempts.
    • Remove messages and expired broadcast messages - Removes read, unread, and/or expired broadcast messages from the database.
    • Remove smart publishing information - Removes all cache information used to intelligently decide when a published file needs to be re-transmitted to the destination server.
    • Remove old versions of assets - Removes all but the current version for all version-capable assets from the database. This includes: pages, files, blocks, formats, templates and external links.
    • Remove orphaned records - Removes all child records from the database that are no longer referenced by a parent record (e.g. blobs, metadata, page configurations, page regions, etc.).
    • Repair Structured Data - Attempts to re-assign structured data fields for pages and blocks that do not have a valid asset reference.
    • Remove Background Task History - Removes all background task history items before the selected start date/time.
  4. Click Submit.