Cascade Server's Recycle Bin is a temporary holding area for deleted assets which helps prevent loss of content. Assets in the Recycle Bin can be restored to their original location or purged from the system permanently either one at-a-time or in bulk.
What is recycled?All Home Area Assets (Pages, Files, Folders, Blocks, Formats, Templates, and External Links) are sent to the Recycle Bin when deleted. Once in the Recycle Bin, the assets can be permanently deleted or restored to their original location.
Are there different Recycle Bins for each Site?
What can I see and do in the Recycle Bin?
A user's abilities dictate which assets he or she can see in a particular Recycle Bin. By default, all users are able to see and restore all assets that they have deleted.
The new Role abilities are:
- View and Restore only assets the current user deleted - Enabled for all users by default
- View and Restore all assets in the Recycle Bin - Disabled by default
- Permanently remove assets from the Recycle Bin - Disabled by default
Accessing the Recycle Bin
To access the Recycle Bin, click the link on the Dashboard or the link in Quick Links.
To restore an individual asset back to its original location, click the green Restore icon in the Actions column.
To restore multiple assets, select the assets using the checkboxes in the left column. Then click the "With Selected:" dropdown menu, and select Restore.
Restoring Invalid Assets
An asset may become "invalid" if certain required relationships are broken, such as a missing parent folder or Content Type. When trying to restore an invalid asset, the user is required to select reassignments for each broken relationship.
For example, Page A is deleted and sent to the Recycle Bin. Later, its original parent folder is deleted. When the user tries to restore Page A, he/she will be presented with an asset reassignment screen which allows a new parent folder to be selected before the Page is restored.
The same concept applies to restoring multiple assets.
In the multiple reassignment scenario, the user can select one reassignment for all assets or separate reassignments for individual assets. The "for all" reassignment is applied to any assets that do not have an individual reassignment.
If there are more than 20 invalid assets, the user can only make the reassignment to all of them.
An asset is not permanently deleted until it is removed from the Recycle Bin. To permanently delete an asset from the Recycle Bin, click the red "Delete" icon in the Actions column.
To permanently delete multiple assets, select the assets using the checkboxes in the left column, click the "With Selected:" dropdown menu and select Delete.
To permanently delete everything* in the Recycle Bin, click the Empty Recycle Bin link at the bottom of the table.
* Note that emptying the recycle bin will only permanently delete items in the current Site that are visible for the current user.
Configuring Automatic Deletion
By default, all Sites and the Global area have an expiration time of 15 days. After an asset has been in the Recycle Bin for 15 days, it is permanently deleted automatically. This expiration time can be changed for each Site or the Global area individually.
The available expiration times are: 1 day, 15 days, 30 days, or Never. When "Never" is selected, assets will remain in the Recycle Bin until manually deleted.
To change the expiration time on a Site, go to System -> Site Management. Select a Site on the left and then click the Edit tab. A Recycle Bin Expiration dropdown will be available at the bottom of the edit screen.
To change the expiration preference for the Global area's Recycle Bin, go to System -> Preferences -> Content. At the bottom of the Content tab is a Recycle Bin Expiration dropdown. This only changes the expiration time in the Global area's Recycle Bin and not any Site.
Entity Relations with Recycled Assets
When assets are sent to the Recycle Bin, certain relationships are maintained until permanent deletion or reassignment. If an asset is restored, the relationship is also restored. Relationships are maintained on Block/Format assignments for regions and asset choosers on Pages using Data Definitions.
- A Block is assigned to the DEFAULT region on 5 different Pages.
- The Block is deleted (i.e. sent to the Recycle Bin)
- When any of those 5 different Pages are rendered, the DEFAULT region does not use the Block's content.
- On the Configurations pane (for either View or Edit tabs), the DEFAULT region shows the path to the Block with a strikethrough (see screenshot below)
- On one of the five Pages, a User assigns a new Block to the DEFAULT region.
- The Block is restored from the Recycle Bin
- The 4 Pages that did not change the DEFAULT region assignment now have the Block's content in the DEFAULT region once again.