Audits

Overview

Audits allow administrators to see a summary of activities performed in Cascade CMS by a particular User, Group, or Role or on a particular asset. Start/End Date and Audit Type filters are provided to help refine the audit trail.

The record for each event in the audit trail includes:

  • User - the username of the user who performed the activity.
  • Time - the time of the activity. Hover over this entry in this column for an exact date/time.
  • Action - the type of action performed (login, edit, publish, etc.).
  • Information - the information about that action such as whether the asset was edited or published, the IP address of the computer from which the user logged in, and/or a link to the location of the particular asset.
Note - Audits will default to displaying one week's worth of records when no Start Date or End Date are provided, or when an End Date is provided without a Start Date. Otherwise, all audits within the provided date range will be returned.

Auditing Users, Group, and Roles

To view the audit trail for a User, Group, or Role:

  1. Click the system menu button (  ) > Administration > Users, Groups, or Roles.
  2. Click on the item you wish to audit and then click More > Audits.

Viewing an audit trail for a Group or Role will display the actions performed by all Users belonging to that Group or Role.

Audit Type filters for Users, Groups, and Roles include:

  • Login
  • Failed Login
  • Logout
  • Assume another User’s identity
  • Resume normal identity
  • User’s identity assumed by another User
  • User’s identity unassumed by another User
  • Started Workflow
  • Advanced Workflow
  • Edit
  • Start Edit
  • Copy
  • Create
  • Reference
  • Delete
  • Restore
  • Recycle
  • Delete and Unpublish
  • Check-in
  • Check-out
  • Version Activation
  • Publish
  • Unpublish
  • Move/Rename

Auditing Assets

To view the audit trail for an asset:

  1. While viewing an asset, click More > Audits.

Audit Type filters for assets include:

  • Started Workflow
  • Advanced Workflow
  • Edit
  • Start Edit
  • Copy
  • Create
  • Reference
  • Delete
  • Restore
  • Recycle
  • Delete and Unpublish
  • Check-in
  • Check-out
  • Version Activation
  • Publish
  • Unpublish
  • Move/Rename